Five Films Nominated for EUFA 2017

At the Filmfest Hamburg, the five nominated films for the Second European University Film Award (EUFA) have been announced. Based on the lists of 51 feature films and 15 documentaries from the EFA Selections 2017 a committee consisting of Fabian Gasmia (Producer / Germany), Juho Kuosmanen (Director / Finland), Elli Mastorou (Journalist / Belgium and Greece) and Dagmar Brunow (Film Scholar / Linnaeus University / Sweden) has decided on the following nominations:

  • HEARTSTONE (HJARTASTEINN) by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson (Iceland, Denmark)
  • HOME by Fien Troch (Belgium)
  • LOVELESS (НЕЛЮБОВЬ) by Andrey Zvyagintsev (Russian Federation, Belgium, Germany, France)
  • THE OTHER SIDE OF HOPE (TOIVON TUOLLA PUOLEN) by Aki Kaurismäki (Finland, Germany)
  • THE WAR SHOW by Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon (Denmark, Syrian Arab Republic, Finland)

The nominated films will be viewed and discussed in 20 universities in 20 countries and each institution will select its favourite film. In early December, one student representative from each university will attend a three-day deliberation meeting to decide on the overall winner. The Award will be handed out to the winning director in the framework of European Film Awards in Berlin in December.
The aim of this new initiative by the European Film Academy (EFA) and Filmfest Hamburg is to involve a younger audience, to spread the "European idea" and to transport the spirit of European cinema to an audience of university students. It shall also support film dissemination, film education and the culture of debating.
The European University Film Award 2017 is supported by the Körber Foundation and the Joachim Herz Stiftung and in close collaboration with NECS–European Network for Cinema and Media Studies.


From left to right:

Albert Wiederspiel (FFHH), Fabian Gasmia, Dagmar Brunow, Elli Mastorou, Juho Kuosmanen, Kathrin Kohlstedde (FFHH)